Advenir at The Meadows

Perfectly situated in Rolling Meadows, The Preserve at Woodfield offers spacious one, two, and three-bedroom apartment homes, each with fully equipped kitchens, large patios and balconies, and abundant closet space. Enjoy all the amenities the community has to offer including an Olympic-size swimming pool, fitness center, and business center. Call today to schedule your personalized tour and learn why residents love calling our community home!

Ratings & Reviews

Overall Rating

3
(29 reviews)
62.1% of customers recommend this property

Rating Per Category

Parking
Noise
Grounds
Construction
Maintenance
Staff

Resident Reviews

submitted by DAYANNA F. - |Recommended: YesGood — Es un lugar tranquilo para vivir. Responden rápido a las necesidades. Necesita más dedicación
response from property -Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you had a great experience and enjoyed your home. Warmest regards. The Advenir at The Meadows Management Team.
submitted by Sean D. - |Recommended: NoOverpriced. — Overpriced, things are not fixed in a timely manner, and it is unsafe. We’ve had stuff stolen from us multiple times off of our porch, and out of our vehicles.
response from property -Thank you for your review, Sean. We apologize you have experienced maintenance and pricing issues in your time living here. We do our best to employ helpful staff to handle resident concerns as soon as possible. We appreciate any feedback we receive and would be happy to discuss this further. Feel free to call us at (432) 682-8678. Well wishes, The Advenir at The Meadows Management Team.
submitted by Leonid B. - |Recommended: NoDefinatly not the best — It started even before we moved in, for a month we couldn't get the contract singed by the owner. Then first day we moved in, we got apartment that was not as advertised. Then maintenance, I got over 20 maintenance requests entered during first week living here. Crew doing their best to accommodate but everything is too old and falling apart. The back yard had grass weed taller then myself and there was garbage plastic bags, containers, paper etc. all over the back yard at the time of move in. It was never cleaned by anyone, even though I was promised by the management, but it was never done. I ended up cleaning and removing previous tenants trash from the back yard. Last two things broke the straw. The dishwasher had rusted racks, a few days after the racks looked liked were replaced, but after washing first time on those racks all dishes were destroyed as they got covered with paint, how smart it was to paint the racks and save a penny which cost me about 100 to replace my dishes Then second, a little broken window was replaced two months after we moved in, the process took place outside, we have an outdoor carpet on the patio covering the concrete, contractors never moved it away, all trash was left on it, but it's not all, I found blood stains, all over the house. Few min later while cleaning carpet I cut myself with little glass piece that was left on the carpet. Apparently they shatter the glass on the carpet, so that carpet will be trashed as well. How hard is to move the carpet and clean after yourself Why do we have to clean someone's blood, it is not safe at all This is the service quality here. Nobody apologized and no compensation paid. All pictures available.
response from property -Thank you for your feedback Leonid. We apologize about the issues you have been having with us at Advenir at The Meadows. We strive to make sure our residents are happy while living in our community and that they get the best customer service possible from our staff. Please reach out to us or stop by the office and we will discuss your review further and work towards a resolution. Have a great day and we hope to hear from you soon, the Advenir at The Meadows team.
submitted by Clarissa C. - |Recommended: YesGood — good place to live prices droped since new owners and things aregetting fixed however they will not lower our rent due to contract kinda sucks
response from property -Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you had a great experience and enjoyed your home. Warmest regards. The Advenir at The Meadows Management Team.
submitted by Larry R. - |Recommended: YesNice property — I like living here, the only problem is the pool doesn’t stay clean, besides that I have no problem with complex
response from property -Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased to provide you with a 5-star living experience. We appreciate you feedback and are happy to have you as a part of our community. Warmest Regards, Advenir at The Meadows
submitted by Sumit Y. - |Recommended: YesStaff is really nice and helpful — Yesterday my car's battery was down. Maintenance manager help me to get start my cars.
response from property -Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are so happy to hear you have had a positive interaction with our maintenance team. We are so glad that we have provided you with a 5-star living experience. Warmest Regards, Advenir at The Meadows
submitted by Elizabeth O. - |Recommended: NoThis property needs a lot of work in terms of maintenance around and the actual apartments. — I would tell future customers that the facility needs a lot of improvement. Areas like the pool, fitness and spa area are not up to date on the equipment provided versus other apartments in the area. Majority of the equipment does not work. The maintenance around the complex is not great. There is always dog feces and other trash around the complex. The apartments are older and need a lot of work. Most of our cabinets in our apartments are broken and have not been replaced even after many attempts in calling. We also have had multiple issues with leaks floods. For future customers I would not recommend these apartments.
response from property -Thank you for your feedback Elizabeth. We apologize about the issues you have been having with us at Advenir at The Meadows. We strive to make sure our residents are happy while living in our community and that they get the best customer service possible from our staff. Please reach out to us or stop by the office and we will discuss your review further and work towards a resolution. Have a great day and we hope to hear from you soon, the Advenir at The Meadows team.
submitted by Rodolfo T. - |Recommended: YesGood — Ok
response from property -Thank you for taking the time to rank and review us here at Advenir at The Meadows. Please reach out to us so we can try to make your stay here more of a five star experience. Have a great day, your Advenir at The Meadows team.
submitted by Michelle A. - |Recommended: YesIts a work in progress.. its getting better — It used to be a horrible place to live, but its getting better
response from property -Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy to hear that you have been noticing and appreciating our ongoing improvements! We hope that we can make your stay here more of a five star experience and would love to know what we can do to make Advenir at The Meadows a better place to live. Reach out to us if you have time so we can address any issues you might have and work to fix them! Have a great day, your Advenir at The Meadows team.
submitted by Cynthia M. - |Recommended: NoA work in progress — My family and I have been here over a year now and I have to say first impression was absolutely freakin horrible. They worked hard to get things fixed and within two weeks things got fixed. Then half way through the year of we needed maintenance it would literally take weeks so I started fixing things myself . These last few months ,I have really seen a big change in maintenance . I’ve always loved the one maintenance lady forgive me I forgot your name we have because she is so nice but recently we have had the absolutely pleasure of having William help us with things . He is not only extremely knowledgeable but so very respectful and above all else he is genuinely nice to my girls and family .
response from property -Hi Cynthia, we are sorry about your unpleasant experience and thank you for your feedback. We're proud to hear that our maintenance staff is going above and beyond for our residents and that you feel satisfied. We do hope that we can transform your bad experience into a good one! If you're ever in need of more help, please let us know! Best, the Advenir at The Meadows Team.
submitted by Kathryn T. - |Recommended: NoAlright for the cost — My upstairs neighbor harasses me. She is constantly drunk, comes down stairs and blames her missing dog's toys on me. She took in a dog only to abandon it on the street 3 days later. Has many male visitors who come all hours of day and night, go in for 15 min. , I hear the bed springs and then they leave. If it weren't for my upstairs neighbor I would ,ike the complex better.
response from property -Dear Kathryn, thank you for your time and review, we truly value our resident's concerns and feedback. If you have any concerns regarding disruptions to your apartment home due to other residents or neighbors, please feel free to contact us immediately so that we can address them right away. We appreciate your feedback. Sincerely, the Advenir at The Meadows Team.
submitted by Ron S. - |Recommended: YesAdequate living apartments. Love it — These apartments are very nice, a little older models and fixtures but overall nice.
response from property -Thank you for your review, Ron! We appreciate you taking the time to leave such positive feedback. Please let us know what we can do to make your stay with us more of a five star experience. Have a great rest of your week, the Advenir at The Meadows team.
submitted by Ian M. - |Recommended: NoNeeds A Full Overhaul — Staff was very friendly when we first moved in, however it has worn off over the last few months. Maintenance is always busy and they try to get things fixed in a timely manner but we never know when they actually showed up. The grounds are covered in dog feces as they do not enforce about clean up and most people keep their dogs off leash even though the lease said they must be on one. Shrubs are overgrown and the grass doesn't all get mowed. Ours hasn't been in over a month. The pool was dark green for two months before they decided to clean it. The community center is right beside our building so we get to hear all the parties over the TV in our bedroom at night. The sidewalks flood every time it rains and there is no drainage system in place. Heavy rains cause our dining room to leak. Would not recommend this place to anyone. Will not be renewing our lease.
response from property -Thank you for your feedback Ian. We apologize about the issues you have been having with us at Advenir at The Meadows. We strive to make sure your residents are happy while living in our community and that they get the best customer service possible from our staff. Someone from our office will reach out to you ASAP so we can discuss your review further and solve any outstanding issues! Have a great day and we hope to hear from you soon, the Advenir at The Meadows team.
submitted by Lisa K. - |Recommended: YesNice place to live — Yes nice place to live
response from property -Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied here at Advenir at Stone Park. We work hard to make our residents happy through great customer service. We would love to know how we can continue to improve. Please contact us at 281-454-5777. Warmest regards, Advenir at Stone Park

The views and opinions expressed herein are solely those of the original authors and other contributors. These views do not reflect the views of "Advenir at The Meadows", its owners, managers, agents, employees or content providers. No representation or warranty, express or implied, is made or given by "Advenir at The Meadows", its owners, managers, agents, employees or content providers regarding safety, accuracy, completeness or suitability of the information or material expressed herein for any particular purpose